What are the Different Kinds of Medicare Advantage Plans?

Updated: Jan 20

Medicare Advantage plans are private health insurance plans offered to seniors who qualify for Medicare. These plans cover Parts A and B of Medicare insurance and typically also include prescription drug coverage and other services such as hearing and dental that Original Medicare does not cover. Medicare Advantage plans are also sometimes called “Part C” or “MA Plans.”

What are the different kinds of Medicare Advantage plans?

There are four common kinds of Medicare Advantage plans:

  • Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Plans

  • Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) Plans

  • Private Fee-for-Service (PFFS) Plans

  • Special Needs Plans (SNPs)

There are also other less common types of Medicare Advantage Plans that may be available, including HMO Point of Service (HMOPOS) Plans and a Medicare Medical Savings Account (MSA) Plan.

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Plans: In most HMO Plans, recipients must choose a primary care doctor and receive care and services from providers in the plan's network. Prescription drugs are usually covered in HMO Plans.

HMO Point of Service (HMOPOS) Plans: HMOPOS allow their members to use healthcare providers that are outside the plan's network for some or all services. (POS stands for Point of Service).

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) Plans: PPO Plan enrollees are not usually required to choose a primary care physician but they are expected to use their plan’s in-network doctors, health care providers, and hospitals to pay the lowest